Congratulations to…

…those from the arts in the Queen’s Birthday Honours List.



Companion of Honour                     Dame Vera Lynn.

Knights          Michael Craig-Martin, artist; Stanley Wells, Shakespeare scholar.

Dames           Julia Peyton-Jones, director, Serpentine Gallery; Penelope Wilton, actor.

CBE                  David Burbidge, for cultural philanthropy; Althea Efunshile, deputy CEO, Arts Council England; Brian Lang, chairman, Royal Scottish National Orchestra; Colin Lawson, director, Royal College of Music; Paul Lewis, pianist; John McLeod, composer.

OBE                Alison Balsom, trumpeter; Johanna Basford, illustrator; Brian Blessed, actor; Georgina Born, musicologist; Margaret Calvert, graphic designer; Eileen Cooper, painter; Edward Enninful, fashion journalist; Sonia Friedman, theatre producer; Tom Morris, artistic director, Bristol Old Vic; Gareth Neame, TV drama producer; Allen Packwood, director, Churchill Archive Centre; Nima Poovaya-Smith, arts programmer; Adil Ray, actor; Ian Rosenblatt, music philanthropist; Dhanonday Shrivastav, musician; Stella Duffy, writer; Frances Sorrell, art and design philanthropy; Nicola Thorold, theatre producer; Nicholas Way, former director, Historic Houses Association; Paul Williamson, former keeper of sculpture, V&A.

MBE               Amanda Aldous, founder, Hackwood Art Festival; Mohammed ALI (“Aerosol Arabic”), street artist; Felix Barrett, theatre director and founder, Punchdunk; Rikki Beadle-Blair, playwright; James Blair, conductor; Kathleen Byrne, former commissioner, Historic Monuments of Scotland; Morna Cook, music entrepreneur; Simon Cook, assistant mayor for arts, Bristol; Christopher Day, architect; Louise Dyson, for services to disabled people in the entertainment industry; Malcolm Fisher, Norfolk Churches Trust; Alison Frazer, Music in Hospitals, Scotland; Ruth Gould, artistic director; Lisa Hammond, potter; Remi Harris, guitarist; William Hughes, director, Ruthin Craft Centre, Brian Hunter, for services to music; John Kitchen organist; Frances Lynch-Llewellyn, archaeologist; Mairtin Chomghaill, for services to the arts; Linda McClelland, National Galleries of Scotland; Muriel Romanes, artistic director; Kerry Rooney, theatre director; Catherine Slessor, architecture journalist; Kousalyaa Somasundram, for services to Indian art; Neil Thomas, architect; Ruby Turner, gospel singer; Rowan Whimster, archaeologist.

BEM               Josephine Buchan, Young People Through the Arts; Kanchan Chudasama, Art Fund; Alice Dennis, for services to music; Geoffrey Gibbons, for services to church music; Pamela Guy, musical director; Jacqueline Harvey, quilter; Joan Howarth, stage costumier; Elizabeth McCay, for services to music; David Ogborn, for services to community music; Andrea Pridmore, for services to community music; Sally Robinson, for services to community arts; Rhonda Scott, for services to community music.

Print Email