Honours showered on cultured Hull

Knighthoods for Barry Gibb, Richard Long, Michael Morpurgo and Ringo Starr, Darcey Bussell and Rosemary Squire made dames.

Martin Green, CEO of Hull City of Culture 2017, leads those honoured for the city’s successful with a CBE, followed by OBEs for Stephen Brady, leader of Hull City Council, playwright John Godber, founder of Hull Truck Theatre, Francesca Hegyi, executive director Hull City of Culture, Jonathan Pywell, manager of city culture for the year, and Rosie Millard, chair of Hull City of Culture.

Companions of Honour: Melvyn Bragg; Antonia Fraser.

CBEs: Jilly Cooper, novelist; Peter Florence, co-founder of the Hay Festival; Prof Jonathan Freeman-Attwood, principal, Royal Academy of Music; Jane Hamlyn, gallerist and chair of the Paul Hamlyn Foundation; Susan Hampshire, actor; Dawn Hill, chair, Black Cultural Archives; Lilian Hochhauser, 90-year-old dance/music philanthropist; Hugh Laurie, actor; Julia Mackenzie, actor and singer; Peter Nichols, playwright; Alexandra Shulman, former British Vogue editor; Veronica Wadley, chair, Arts Council London.

OBEs: Sarah Alexander, CEO, National Youth Orchestra; Peter Almond, singer-songwriter; Fiona Bradley, director, Fruitmarket Gallery, Edinburgh; Jane Claire, former producer, English Touring Theatre; Raymond Entwistle, arts philanthropist; Lynne Franks, fashion PR; John Godber, playwright; Revel Guest, chair, Hay Festival; Richard James, tailor; Deborah Lamb, deputy director, Historic England; Victoria Miro, gallerist; Deboragh Moggagh, writer; Nik Powell, former director, National Film and Television School; Samenua Sesher, creative consultant; Prof John Sloboda, Guildhall School of Music and Drama; Paul Taiano, chair, Royal Central School of Speech and Drama; Timothy Tatton-Brown, archaeologist; John Tiffany, theatre director; Richard Wilson, CEO, Independent Games Developers Association.

MBEs: Philipa Ailion, casting director; Iain Ball, choral music director; Michael Bell, conductor; Lucille Briance, founder, London Children’s Ballet; Darrell Buttery, for services to York’s heritage; Prof Hugh Cheape, bagpipe historian; George Colligan, jazz musician; Martin Cooke, for services to the arts ion Chester and Cornwall;  James Copeland, actor; Richard Cowie (“Wiley”), musician; Matt Henry, actor/singer; Adrian Jackson, CEO, Cardboard Citizens; Philippa Dodds John, museum fundraiser; Shahina Baloch Johnson, director, Watershed Arts Trust; Grace Ladoja, music manager; John Larke, musician; Inez Lynn, for services to literature; Anthony Marwood, violinist; Margaret Mather, founder, Dundee Junior Showtime Youth Theatre; Bazil Meade, founder, London Community Gospel Choir;  Thomas Metcalfe, Cumbrian bellringer; David Openshaw, timpanist; David Pickering, teacher, Royal Ballet; Bob Ramdhanie, arts administrator; Alan Regin, bell ringing historian; David Temple, musical director, Crouch End Festival Chorus; Nigel Tully, jazz musician; Cleveland Watkiss, actor and jazz singer; Andrew Watson, leader, Geese Theatre Company.

BEMs: Regina Boakye-Nimo, director, Akomaasa Performing Arts Academy; Sonia Bond, dancing teacher; Sandra Booer, music teacher; Stephen Chapman, music teacher; Hazel Drummond, music teacher; Benjamin Hammond, dance philanthropist; Margaret Harvey, music teacher; Norman Hill, music teacher; Jean Holmes, choral music director; Geoffrey Keating,  founder, Solway Sinfonia; William Matheson, culture philanthropist; Barbara McKinley, company secretary, Ulster Orchestra; Colin Moore, music teacher; Rebekah Olphert, founder, Ballymena Chamber Orchestra; Martin Parry, for services to film and music; Nicola Spencer, for services to the arts; Sheila Thomas, music teacher; Doris Williams coir leader; David Wilson, conductor, Slough Philharmonic Orchestra.



Print Email