Knighthood for Frank Bowling in Birthday Honours

Congratulations  to  Queen’s Birthday Honours recipients in the arts.


Companion of Honour: Sir Paul Smith, fashion designer

Dame: Siobhan Davies, choreographer; Vikki Heywood, formerly of the RSC, Royal Court and RSA; Susan Hill, author; Maureen Lipman, actor;.

Knight: Frank Bowling, painter; Thomas Hicks (Tommy Steele), musician; Geoffrey Mulgan, CEO, Nesta; Phil Redmond, wrote and producer; David Suchet, actor.

CBE: Joan Armatrading, singer/songwriter; Matthew Carter, typographer; Judy Craymer, musical theatre producer; Rebecca Evans, singer; Richard Gleave, dancer; Ros Kerslake, CEO, National Lottery Heritage Fund; Adrian Lester, actor; Adrian Osborn, arts philanthropist; Frances Walker, printmaker; Sue Whiddington, theatre director; Robin Wight, founder, Ideas Foundation; Ansel Wong, cultural activist.

OBE: John Ainsley, singer; Sally Beamish, composer; Nicholas Daniel, oboist; Bernadine Evaristo, author; Daniel Hahn, author; Tony Hatch, songwriter; Kim Jones, fashion designer; Jane Kennedy, conservation architect; Muyiwa Olarewaju, gospel singer; Juliet Mabey, publisher; Henry Owen-John, services to heritage protection; Andre Singer, film maker; John Smith, services to music; Sally Wainwright, screenplay writer; Dawn Walton, theatre director; Rebecca Warren, artist.

MBE: Martin Bailey, arts journalist; Denise Blake-Roberts, director, Wedgwood Museum; Elaine Buckland, singer; Yolande Charles, bassist; Stephen Clare, stained glass conservator; Gail Claxton-Parmel, dancer; Glenys Cour, painter; Cressida Cowell, author; Graham Dickie, artistic director, Dance School of Scotland; Malcolm Garrett, graphic designer; Karen Gibson, choir conductor; Pushkala Gopal, dancer; Carrie Grant, vocal teacher; Mariana Hay, founder, Orchestras for All; Kobna Holbrook-Smith, actor; Jason Iley, chair, Sony Music; Arinze Kene, actor/playwright; Stephen Layton, conductor; Donna Lynas, director, Wysing Arts Centre; Barry Mason, songwriter; Donal McCrisken, services to music; Chris Moore, fashion photographer; Erdem Moralioglu, fashion designer; Georgina Nayler, former director, Pilgrim Trust; Keith Palmer, founding director, Comedy School; Paul Philbert, services to music; Jennifer Pike, violinist; Edmund Reid, services to music; Margaret Robertson, musical director, Shetland Fiddlers; Polly Stenham, playwright; Michelle Warren (Mica Paris), singer; Truda White, Founder, Music in Secondary Schools; Roy Williams, trombonist.

BEM: Myra Andrews, services to performing arts; and Young People,Milton Keynes; William Bankes-Jones, opera director; Kevin Calpin, , stonemason; William Fleming,  services to music; Kathleen Forsyth,  services to dance; Alun Guy,  services to music; Casyo Johnson, musician; Brian Logan, services to drama; Alan McBride, services to music; Martin McHale, conductor; Jonathan Rea, services to music; Karl Wilson, musician.

Print Email

Patreon message

If you enjoy what we do at Arts Industry and want to show your support, why not become a Patron? A small amount each month will help us keep doing what we do and improve our website.