Support for 5 at the cutting edge

Written on .

The Arts Foundation has announced the five artists at the front of advances in their disciplines to receive grants in its Futures Awards programme.

The annual awards, which started in 1993 funded by an anonymous bequest of £1m left to the Arts Council, were devised to give creative projects a boost with grants of £10,000 to those behind them, to allow them time to develop their ideas. Each year the recipients are from different disciplines, recommended by a panel of experienced practitioners.

The 2022 recipients are:

Savinder Bual, animation; working on the illusory qualities of film.

Elissa Brunato, materials innovation; eliminating waste in the creation of embroidery.

Love Ssega, music for change; how music can influence the environment.

Lee Hart, theatre-making; creating theatre for community performers.

Libita Sibungu, visual arts; using storytelling, performance and collective work to explore space and place.

“Given the ongoing precarity across the arts and culture sector, the Arts Foundation is really pleased to provide unconditional financial support to artists and creative practitioners at a pivotal moment in their practice” said Mary Jane Edwards, interim director of the Arts Foundation. “We are greatly encouraged by the ingenuity, generosity, and often challenging, and interdisciplinary focused practices of all the AFFA 2022 fellows and finalists. We have no doubt their respective work will have a significant impact, and it is such a privilege to be able to support their artistic development and career trajectories.”

Previous winners of the award include Wayne McGregor (1994), Alice Oswald (1996), Sarah Kane (1998), Asif Kapadia (2001), Ali Smith (2001), Rufus Norris (2002), Lynette Yiadom-Boakye (2006), Simon Fujiwara (2009), Hollie McNish (2015), Evan Ifekoya (2017), Holly Hendry (2019), and Bethany Williams (2020).

Image shows a still from Savinder Bual’s Punch


Posted in News